We Are Broadcasters
National Association of Broadcasters

RTDNA Winners

Topic: Investigative Reporting
Posted on 7/2/2019

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced on June 18 the winners of the 2019 National Murrow Awards, recognizing 100 radio, television and digital news organizations for 122 examples of outstanding journalism. RTDNA received more than 4,600 entries across 16 categories, which include technical aspects of multimedia news, innovation, engagement and investigation.

"These winning pieces from news organizations large and small have educated, uplifted, inspired, uncovered and enlightened,” said Executive Director Dan Shelley. "We’re proud to recognize the most outstanding ways journalists are keeping the public informed, holding the powerful accountable and enhancing the quality of life in their communities."

Hubbard’s WTOP-FM Washington, D.C., won for Overall Excellence in large market radio for the third straight year. Overall Excellence awards also go to Scripps’ ABC affiliate KMGH-TV Denver for large market television and Pikes Peak Television’s ABC affiliate KRDO-TV Colorado Springs for small market.

“Our news team places a high value on consistency, innovation, and collaboration across all platforms,” said Director of News and Programming Mike McMearty. “To be recognized three years in-a-row by the Murrow judges fills us all with such a great sense of pride… it’s truly a great honor.”

Read more stories on Investigative Reporting »

How Broadcasters Serve Their Communities

More than 2.47 million American jobs depend on broadcasting, and the local broadcast radio and television industry - and the businesses that depend on it - generate $1.17 trillion annually for the nation's economy.

View State-by-State Data »