We Are Broadcasters
National Association of Broadcasters

RTDNF Announces 2018 First Amendment Award Honorees

Topic: Investigative Reporting
Posted on 1/1/2018

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) announced on January 16 its First Amendment Awards winners, who will be honored on March 8. “Through our First Amendment Awards, we shine a light on individuals and news organizations who seek and report the truth ethically and responsibly,” said RTDNF Executive Director Dan Shelley. The 2018 honorees include NBC’s Meet the Press, CBS News’ David Rhodes, ABC News’ Robin Roberts and industry leader Gretchen Carlson.

First Amendment Award – NBC’s Meet the Press
"Meet the Press," moderated by NBC News political director Chuck Todd, is the longest-running show in television history, with 70 years on the air. The show spotlights how Washington decision-making impacts Americans across the country. It was the number one most-watched Sunday public affairs show for the 2016-2017 season, reaching more than three million viewers weekly and millions more through social, digital and on-demand platforms.

First Amendment Service Award – David Rhodes, CBS News
This award honors professionals in local or network news who work in a management or largely behind-the-scenes capacity. Rhodes oversaw the creation of “CBS This Morning" in 2012, which has more than a million daily viewers. In 2014, Rhodes launched the streaming video news channel CBSN. He has twice been named to Fortune magazine’s “40 Under 40” list and to GQ’s “50 Most Powerful People in Washington.”

Lifetime Achievement Award – Robin Roberts, ABC News
Robin Roberts is co-anchor of ABC’s “Good Morning America.” Under her leadership, the show has won five Emmy Awards for Outstanding Morning Program and the 2017 People’s Choice Award for Favorite Daytime TV Hosting Team. Her numerous awards include the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism. She was voted the “Most Trusted Person on Television” by a Reader’s Digest poll in 2013.

First Amendment Leadership Award – Gretchen Carlson
This award is presented to a business or government leader or other individual who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the First Amendment and freedom of the press. Gretchen Carlson is one of the nation’s most successful and recognized news anchors and a tireless advocate for workplace equality and the empowerment of women.

Read more stories on Investigative Reporting »

How Broadcasters Serve Their Communities

More than 2.47 million American jobs depend on broadcasting, and the local broadcast radio and television industry - and the businesses that depend on it - generate $1.17 trillion annually for the nation's economy.

View State-by-State Data »